This consortium is for Bret Newton’s Symphony 4 for band. Newton is a prolific composer with two large-scale symphonies for wind orchestra, multiple tone poems for wind ensemble as well as the author of Band Orchestration (3 volumes) the first modern text on orchestrating for the wind band. His works have been played around the world including at Carnegie Hall, Eastman School of Music, Manhattan School of Music, and Rutgers.


Symphony 4 is designed to appeal to as large of an audience as possible and will be accessible for top high school groups as well as collegiate ensembles.

The work will be a five-movement symphony (fast-slow-slow-fast-slow), and, when completed, the work will be between 25 and 30 minutes in length. Currently, movements 1, 3, 4, and 5 of the work are completed. Movement 4 will receive its premiere in the spring of 2020 at Dordt University under the direction of Dr. Onsby Rose. Movement 2 will be completed by the end of the year (2019) and will be ready for performance in the spring of 2020. The premiere of the full piece is yet to be scheduled.


The ensemble requirements will be for standard concert band and can be performed either by a true wind ensemble (one player per part) or by a concert band (multiple players per part).


  • Piccolo and 2 Flutes (Piccolo = Flute 3)
  • 2 Oboes
  • E, 3 B, Alto, Bass, and B Contrabass Clarinets (E Clarinet = B Clarinet 4)
  • AATB Saxophones
  • 2 Bassoons
  • 4 Horns
  • 3 B Trumpets
  • 2 Tenor and Bass Trombones
  • Euphonium and Tuba
  • Timpani + 4 percussion


Partners in the project will receive exclusive rights to perform the work for the calendar year of 2020, acknowledgement on the dedication page of the work, access to unlimited Skype calls (or other means of communication) with the composer during the band’s music preparation phase, and both digital and print copies of the scores and parts for the entire work.


The cost per member of the consortium is $250 and the consortium is limited to 50 spots. This price includes composition fees, engraving fees, and the production of scores and parts. 


Additionally, the member may elect to have the composer on-site providing that travel expenses are covered. No additional fee is requested.


I look forward to completing this exciting new work and working with bands who are as excited as I am about promoting new music for the wind band.

Symphony 4 - Commissioning Consortium


    © 2021 Bret Newton

    • w-facebook
    • White Instagram Icon
    • Twitter Clean
    • White YouTube Icon