June 27, 2019

June 27, 2019

February 15, 2018

February 13, 2018

February 3, 2018

February 3, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Featured Posts


June 27, 2019

The works of Poe have been an ever-giving fount of inspiration for my works. Fairy-Land represents the third work I have completed based on the poems of Poe (the other works are The City in the Sea for saxophone ensemble and The Haunted Palace for large wind ensemble). Fairy-Land is one of Poe’s lighter works, but like most of his works displays a hint of the macabre. As a composer, it is a delight to be able to revel in the potential tone colors that a work of Poe can elicit.


This work, completed in April of 2019 was written for the premiere concert of the Zephyrus Wind Ensemble and received its premiere on May 17, 2019. It serves as a companion piece to Mozart’s sublime Gran Partita which uses the same player lineup.


Full Score - $30.00

Set of Parts - $75.00



  • 2 Oboes

    • Oboe 2 = Alto Oboe

  • 4 Clarinets

    • Clarinet 1 = E-flat and B-flat Clarinets

    • Clarinet 2 = B-flat Clarinet

    • Clarinet 3 = Bass Clarinet

    • Clarinet 4 = E-flat Tenor and E-flat Great Bass Clarinets

  • 2 Bassoons

    • Bassoon 2 = Contrabassoon

  • 4 F Horns

  • Bass

  • Narrator (optional)

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2019 Bret Newton

  • w-facebook
  • White Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Clean
  • White YouTube Icon